PDA

View Full Version : Dive Floats/Markers

SpearDiverTampa
03-10-2003, 11:03 AM
I have been diving and spearfishing for a while on others peoples boats, and I just got finished rigging up my boat for diving. I plan on diving mostly well known spots ( artificial reefs, published ledges, etc.) until i can compile some of my own. I know that most of these spots experience heavy boating/fishing traffic. I have never used one before, and I was wondering how many of you dive pulling a surface marker. I have had people drive/troll over me or very near me several times while making my ascent and safety stop. Also, if you have dove pulling a marker, how much of a hassle does it tend to be. All your opinions and ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks alot, -Chris

Divin' fool
03-10-2003, 11:23 AM
Markers are a royal PITA.... but sometimes necessary. When the vis above water or the seas are really bad, use one. They could save your life. Normally we drop one or two floats and dive around them.
LOB... should you use one?:D

swathdiver
03-10-2003, 02:59 PM
It's the law that you must carry one unless you're within 300 feet of your boat or 100 feet if your in a channel, river or inlet. I don't find it a hassle at all with a properly designed float. On those rare dives when I have company I make sure I'm the one carrying it- I'm the guy the boat is going to find first in an emergency!
Our floats are the bullet type with two 8ounce sinkers with a collapsable tent pole that is about 6 feet high. Very light weight. Also use a lifeguard rescue can with a flag on it when bluewater spearfishing.

Look Out Below
03-10-2003, 03:19 PM