PDA

View Full Version : Free diving Neah bay area.

canuck
08-12-2006, 03:00 PM
I am new to the spear fishing and free diving, but have been tank diving a long time. I am having a lot of fun develloping my skills and love to learn new spots. With my wet suit I can stand two hours of diving around fifty degree water ( should be good enough for late summer season water temperature, right?)
I have not been in Seiku/ Neah bay area in a few years. In the past I used to go to Seiku for salmon fishing and did a little bottom fishing for rock fish and ling. We used to go just west of the mouth of the seiku river (region 4) and do well along the kelp in thirty to fourty feet deep. That is well inside the dept I can hunt freediving. I never paid attentions to the shore so I don't remember what it is like. I remember that there is sometime lots of current but there is always a few hours every day that would be calm. When I look at the area on google earth, there are a few beaches between Seeku and Neah bay.
I also have a boat, eighteen feet with 75 hp. It has never been in the salt but I have been on the Columbia in some nasty wind. I feel confident that it is safe in to use in any condition I wish to dive.

Question # 1: I am ready to hike in all of my gear, Is there a way to access the mouth of the Seiku river on foot?

Question # 2: What about access to the beaches between Seiku and Neah bay?

Question #3: Would I be better to bring my boat and an extra opperator or to attempt to shore dives? ( Two guys in the water and one guy in the boat to pick us up if there is current.)

Question #4: With the boat, is it better to start in Seiku and go west, or start from Neah bay.

Question #5 What about best camping locations

I will not go this year so I have a lot of time to prepair. Is there any suggestion on what to do or not do?
Thank a lot for any info.

Kevin Casey
08-14-2006, 01:40 AM
Seiku is a LONG way from Neah Bay....

LONG WAY!!!!