PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate band setup?

Superfrog
08-14-2007, 07:09 PM
Okay, got the latex tubing (Mcmaster Carr).

I own a machine shop, so anything (damn near) can be manufactured.

What would be the ideal way to secure the band to the cord for a polespear?

Machine an aluminum insert?

What shape "barb" a bulb or a conical shape?

Best cord? Parachute? monofilament?

azspearo
08-14-2007, 10:45 PM
I build pole spears for sale. Here is the link to my site. http://members.cox.net/azspearo/ don’t laugh it's my first time building a website.
The spears are 3/4" OD by 1/8" wall. My new design moves the hole another 1/4" from the end.
I took out a new two-piece design to Ft. Bragg, CA last weekend for a little R&D.
I busted up over a 100 sea urchins with it to see if they would cut the tuna cord or tubing. This design worked out great with no problems.
I designed the end this way because I was tired of most pole spears having their attachment point for the rubber tubing at the end of the spear.
You can get some ideas how I build them from the picks from my site. I use 3/4" round rod and turn it down to 1/2" to fit the tubing. To attach I use a solid 1/8" SS pin and epoxy. I speared this Black Snapper (Black Rockfish).
http://tinyurl.com/yvuoq6

OceanEd
08-15-2007, 07:59 AM
Nice, Aaron. How far does the stainless shaft insert into the pole itself?

azspearo
08-15-2007, 08:47 AM
Thanks. The hole is 1.75" deep. I use helicoil screw lock inserts in the set screw holes. Aaron

OceanEd
08-16-2007, 12:00 AM
AARON: The only thing to be careful about would be the area where the shaft is inserted into the alu. pole, especially if the alu. pole is tapered. Several other pole spears that have the taper in the pole where it meets the shaft have a tendancy to laterally break the shaft out of the pole when a big fish is hit and he "jinks" sideways with a lot of force. This is less likely if the stainless shaft is insert deeper into the pole.

azspearo
08-16-2007, 11:33 AM