PDA

View Full Version : Polespear choices

elnq
03-16-2008, 03:21 PM
Hi everyone:

I have a dilemma here with which I hope you can help me out. I have been spearfishing for over a couple of years now, but always with the use of spearguns. I am now thinking about trying out polespears but I can't make up my mind about which one to buy. I am trying to avoid walking into what happened to me when I first began spearfishing. I first bought a 1.2 RA and soon enough wanted a bigger gun so I went for a 1.4 and now I recently got a beautiful Magnum Hybrid from Daryl Wong.
So I am hoping that with your advice I will be able to chose a polespear that can be a good allround polespear, and ideally one that can break down to a maneagable size for travelling.
I had already made up my mind and had decided to go for an 8ft gat-ku with a slip tip. But I am now undecided because I think it only breaks down into two 4ft pieces which I reckon won't fit very well into a regular suitcase.
So, any ideas??

Thanks a lot.
elnq

SnpperWhisperer
03-16-2008, 03:48 PM
elnq - just like with spearguns, it really depends on what your target species is that you are hunting and where. More info is required for people to answer your question.

elnq
03-16-2008, 04:00 PM
Well, like I said, I've never used a polespear before, so I am not sure what I can hope for. But, I will be doing most of my dives in the Mexican Pacific, so I guess I will be targeting mainly different kinds of pargos (snapper), cabrillas which are a small kind of grouper, an ocassional rainbow runner and other fish I am guessing up to 4kgs. I've seen some videos of divers taking some fair sized barracudas with them, but I guess that will take a while to work my way up to.
Thanks again

kjflyfish
03-16-2008, 04:27 PM