PDA

View Full Version : Spearfishing Question

Fishbuster
03-13-2004, 11:07 AM
I'm new to diving and am interested in spearfishing, but i was wondering when your spearfishing how do you tell the size of snappers, groupers, etc without shooting them(just by looks)?:confused: Does it just come naturally after awhile or can you notice a difference between a legal and illegal fish? Also if you shoot an illegal fish what do you do with it once you shoot it and realize its too small? But when I spearfish I plan on shooting the bigger fish anyhow but its just out of curiousity. Thanks for the help

Spear One
03-13-2004, 11:14 AM
It will come in time, but in order to minimize "bycatch" try to get someone who is familiar with "legal" fish to go down with you and point out the ones which are, and are not legal, before you shoot anything.

f94gator
03-13-2004, 11:50 AM
Just gotta get used to it and, like Spear One said, dive with someone who knows.
Rule of thumb; if there's any doubt it's legal, don't shoot it, 'cause chances are when you take a look at it topside, it's going to be short.

junior
03-13-2004, 12:45 PM
When I first started spearing, I measured the length of my fins and used them for a reference. I would look at my fin and then look at the fish to get an idea of it's size. Also, some guys put marks on their guns at measured intervals. By looking at a known length underwater, it gives you a reference. And after time, like the other guys said, you get used to what a legal size fish looks like. If ever in doubt, it probably is not legal. Good luck.

FredT
03-13-2004, 01:04 PM