PDA

View Full Version : Powerheads

WreckDiver
01-19-2003, 04:22 AM
I am new to spearfishing, primarily a bug hunter. Some of you guys talk about using powerheads. Thought they were a no no.
of course if i had one i would probally use it on myself, like someone else in here did. wouldn't it destroy a fish?

WreckDiver
01-19-2003, 07:04 AM
I heard they were illeagle here in florida

100days-a-year
01-20-2003, 06:40 PM
Fla waters are 3 miles out in the Atlantic and I believe 9 in the Gulf.Fla law does mention not possessing a fish harvested by explosive devices but I 've never seen or heard of it being enforced.

Sea_Dad
01-25-2003, 08:10 PM
If they do decide to enforce it, kiss your boat goodbye. Personally my boat is worth more than a powerhead.

dlock
01-25-2003, 10:59 PM
hmmmmm............does that sound WAAAAAY to ****ing familiar??????

Speargun
01-26-2003, 04:01 AM
Here's the link to the entire section.
http://www.floridaconservation.org/codebook/68b_4.pdf

Here's the important part:
68B-4.012 Diving: Powerheads and Rebreathers, Use to Harvest Fish in State Waters Prohibited; Definition; Spearfishing Marine Species in Fresh Water Prohibited.
(1) Powerheads -
(a) No person shall use any powerhead to harvest any fish in state waters. Powerheads may be possessed while diving in state waters for the purpose of personal protection.
(b) The possession of any fish that has been harvested with a powerhead, aboard a vessel fishing or at rest in state waters, shall constitute a violation of this subsection.
(c) The term "harvest" for purposes of this subsection means the catching or taking of a fish by killing or wounding it, followed by a reduction of such fish to possession.
(d) This subsection shall not be construed to effect the repeal of subsection (5) of Section 370.08, Florida Statutes.

Paragraph (b) aboard a vessel fishing or at rest in state waters, shall constitute a violation of this subsection
As long as you don't stop or fish in state waters, you're legal.