PDA

View Full Version : New to Area

tedsterosa1.2
10-12-2009, 06:04 PM
I am new to the Seattle area and relatively new to spearboard. This is my first post and I was wondering where most people dive. How are conditions in the Sound? Is it better to drive all the way out to the Pacific? Any websites on visibility? I would just like a basic rundown of diving over here. Any info would be appreciated.
-Ted

petej
10-12-2009, 10:27 PM
Check out seaotter.com it has a huge collection of dive sites all over washington and lots in the seattle area, both shore and boat dives. The coast is better in the spring and summer since ling season is open and the weather is better, but it is totally worth the time to go out there, it is amazing.

scubajobert
10-12-2009, 10:29 PM
welcome to the board.

mepps1
10-13-2009, 12:12 AM
I am new to the Seattle area and relatively new to spearboard. This is my first post and I was wondering where most people dive. How are conditions in the Sound? Is it better to drive all the way out to the Pacific? Any websites on visibility? I would just like a basic rundown of diving over here. Any info would be appreciated.
-Ted

Good luck. It seems to be a little tough to find spearfishers in the Sound. Of course, you'll want to read the reg's several times yourself. But as a quick run-down, spearing is highly restricted within the sound, depending on species and dates. All rockfish are taboo.

The sound itself is nice. Vis is tolerable to good. Current ranges from easy to outrageous. Water is cold. Most of the locals dive dry suits.

I've only dove Mukilteo. There were a lot of divers there, but few spearos. Crabs can be had in season. If you spearfish there, be sure to check out the old demolished dock to the north of the ferry. There are fish under the old concrete structure.

Please find some more great sites, so that the next time I'm out there, I have someone to get info from!

And be sure to post some reports when you get out!