PDA

View Full Version : Spearing ling, how to do ?

Spudcote
10-28-2009, 12:52 AM
I posted another thread to see if anyone else fishes in BC, but figured this question was more oriented to the fishing community as a whole.

I am completely new to spear fishing, and the only like-experience I have is harpooning sport caught halibut. I am anxious to try and spear a ling or rockcod some time (since salmon are illegal to spear...).

What have people found to be the best type of spearhead ? and would you reccomend using a gun, sling or polespear ?
The other part of it is how would you subdue it, as in, say you hit a 30lb fish (have seen a few recently...), what's to stop it dragging you down ? I understand a knife between the eyes seems to be an effective way of silencing a fish, but it's the from spear-to-kill phase i'm interested in.
One a slightly different note, I work up in northern BC (Queen Charlotte Islands) and we get some pretty darn big ling up there, among other things. I wouldn't be able to take a tank up with me and plan on freediving around some of the kelp-beds, how would you bring a large ling to the surface, like would you have a rope to your spear and tie it to a buoy and then just follow the buoy ?

Once again, I'm completely green to this, so any and all help is appreciated. I am a rod and reel guy at heart and trying to combine 2 passions, diving and fihsing and see spearfihsing as a good combo and trying to get into it. If for whatever reason anyone has any questions about rod and reel, I can answer most questions, info exchange ?...haha
Thanks.
Take it easy,
Spudcote

fishhunter24
10-28-2009, 09:02 AM
i use a reel attached to my speargun so after shooting a fish i can loosen the drag and fight the fish from the surface. you can also use a floatline attached to a speargun and fight the fish from the surface that way or just grab the fish and manhandle it.