Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Tell us about hunting in the PNW here!

Old 07-18-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
Augie

Question Green pea of free.... Help??

I am heading to the coast (garibaldi area) to try free diving spearfishing on thursday.... 7/21/11 for the FIRST time with 2 of my buddies i have all the equipment i think... haha SOOOO STOKED and excited... never done this before i am not scuba cert. but i am taking a trip to costa rica and panama on the 15th of august where i will be certified there. I have a couple questions if anybody can help?? I am a complete newb.

1) do i need a liscence?
2) would low or high tide be the best?
3) as far as safety and rules and regulation what do i need??
4) not expecting anybody to give away a fishing spot but maybe point me in a good area for my first time?? (tillamook bay area)

Thanks for any info or help!!! this website is awesome and looks like a great community of people...

Cheers... AUGIE
Augie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:09 PM   #2
winklecl
Lord O' Cabezon

Re: Green pea of free.... Help??

To answer you questions:

1) If you take fish you'll need a fishing license. If you take shell fish only, you'll need a shell fish license only.

2) For vis the incoming tide is usually best. I try to be in the water 45min to an hour before the high. The current can still be pushing then so use caution. Also, don't trust tide predictions 100%.

3) The question of safety can probably be addressed best by reading this thread: http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=126603. As for regulations:2 ling 22" min, 7 ground fish (blacks, blues, greenling, rock greenling), 1 cabazone (part of the ground fish limit). 12 male crabs 5 3/4"min.