Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 12:10 AM   #1
BobbyAnaya

Question SoCal spots and fish.

Hi I'm new to spear fishing. I have a pole spear and I live in Newport Beach, CA and I was wondering if anyone knew some spots I could go to and what kind of fish to look for in those spots. Someone please reply!
BobbyAnaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:15 AM   #2
unkabonka

Re: SoCal spots and fish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyAnaya View Post
Someone please reply!

Desperate, are we?

Man, there are fish all over the place. Jump in where you feel comfortable. My recommendations: get in the water. learn the regulations and fish identifications. then, in about a month or so, think about spearing something. Ok, places... anywhere from Crystal Cove to main beach laguna is a great place to start looking. You may want to check the swell conditions before you go, as shore diving can get dangerous in big swell. Check here: http://cdip.ucsd.edu/?nav=recent&sub...item=socal_now Anything over 3 feet makes me pause.

Dont shoot this (it's a Garabaldi, or the california state marine fish:

Do shoot this (they are Opaleye, aka emerald snapper):

This is a sheepshead

But in california we have SHEEPHEAD, and they look like this(size limit 12"):

You can shoot these too, Calico and Sand Bass(MUST be 12" when you measure it out of the water, which means underwater that thing should look 15" easy:

Give these a try too, they are called Sargo, no size limit.

And here are some zebra perch you will likely see: zebra perch.MP4 - YouTube