Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Old 02-26-2016, 11:12 PM   #1
HEX
Hector F.

Reliable Trailer Tires

I should be asking this on The Hull Truth, Continuous wave or a forum of that sorts but I thought i'd ask the boat vets here first! I plan to start towing my 17' Whaler long distances let's say between 450-600 miles one way. I'm already replacing bearings, checking leaf springs suspension for wear, already have a spare tire (contemplating getting a second just in case), next is getting 2 new tires for my single axle trailer. Thing is I have no experience buying new trailer tires so I want something reliable and something that I can trust on the road. I've been doing some research but keep reading mixed reviews on several brand tires I've been looking at. Was thinking of getting Goodyear Marathon ST175/80R13 I read that Radial tires stay cooler. What do you guys suggest? Staying safe is the main priority hence why i'm preparing. Thanks in advance.

Hector
Old 02-27-2016, 01:44 AM   #2
rojodiablo
My spawn kills on....

Re: Reliable Trailer Tires

When it comes to trailer tires, the reasons for bias ply tires are two-fold: 1. The bias ply is a softer bodied tire, so the trailer takes less of a beating. 2. Slightly less costly.

Given the weight of the small boat, and the size of the tire, I will suggest any good load range C radial tire. You do not HAVE to have a trailer tire. Trailer tires are rated lower speed, and all things being equal, when using a comparable load range tire, the highway tire is a better choice every time.