Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum

Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum (http://www.spearboard.com/index.php)
-   All About Guns (http://www.spearboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Thermally Modified Wood (http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=155176)

Behslayer 12-19-2012 06:11 PM

Thermally Modified Wood

Anybody have any experience with this? Sounds interesting..

Mike N 12-19-2012 06:19 PM

Re: Thermally Modified Wood

I used to cook with it before I installed a gas grille. You are refering to charcoal, right? :D

MN

LunkerBuster 12-19-2012 06:52 PM

Yeah. I only know about petrified wood.

Got a link to the process or an example J?

Behslayer 12-19-2012 07:54 PM

I'm just learning about it. I have heard of bringing woods to Cellular Collapse in Kiln drying to make them less prone to swelling/bowing/warping. Maybe this is the same process. The question is does this process improve the characteristics of readily available North American hardwoods to the point where they can match Oily Tropical Hardwoods resistance to Salt Water intrusion and rot. Imagine if we could use Maple, etc. etc. with the same characteristics of Teak. Or imagine if this process were used on Teak, Padauk, other Tropical Oily Hardwoods... we could have a Superwood..

stevemc1 12-19-2012 08:33 PM

They have used heat-steam to bend woods for 100s of years. Kilns to dry it. Pressure treating of wood so it is insect resistant. I am sure if they can get it very dry, it may soak up oils, or resins. Kind of like they use wood stabilizers to make woods more resistant to wear and water, in carved woods, knife handles, etc. I do know there is a very limited point that all that can penetrate. And I do wood carving and some of the guys use flame burnishing to seal or help with keeping the surface good.

Behslayer 12-19-2012 08:44 PM