Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Freshwater Shooting

Freshwater Shooting Live inland, away from the ocean? Tell us about freshwater hunting here.

Old 05-19-2015, 12:37 PM   #1
CozyComic

first post from a newbie

Hi my name is Orin I'm in springfield mo I'm actually still really new to spearfishing.
I've got like 1 trip under my belt and ended up just picking up muscles off the bottom XD. We really don't have much here though been looking to go down to bull shoals near arkansas. Also I'm not shure if this is the right forum for this but I was wondering if this has enough power for our parts
Amazon.com : Cressi Spearfishing Apache Speargun : Ice Fishing Spearing Equipment : Sports & Outdoors Amazon.com : Cressi Spearfishing Apache Speargun : Ice Fishing Spearing Equipment : Sports & Outdoors
Please and thank you for your time.
CozyComic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:13 PM   #2
sticknrelease
Inflatable Floats

Re: first post from a newbie

Welcome CC!

Bull Shoals is a great lake to learn in! It is warm, and the visibility is usually pretty good to great, depending on the time of year and rainfall.

That Cressi will be fine for most of what you find in Bull Shoals, but you will be limited to relatively short shots. Consider that most spearguns are good to about 2 or 2.5 times the length of the shaft. I would recommend trying to find carp in the shallows (less than 12') and practice a bit with them. They are about the toughest fish you will find there, so once you are killing them consistently, you should have no problem with the game fish.