Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > Spearfishing Gear > All About Guns

All About Guns What's your weapon of choice, and why? Discuss the beloved speargun here!

Old 08-05-2019, 08:23 AM   #1
ninjagazz

Spearguns for Dogtooth Tuna

Hi Guys,

I am seeking some advice here, as I am a total blue-water newbie.

I have booked a spot on a 10 day charter on the coral sea.
There will be reef hunting and bluewater hunting for Dogtooth tuna.

I need to have the right gear specifically spearguns.

I have a riffe islander clone (mine has 120cm band stretch, a bit smaller than a real islander) with 8mm spear and slip tip. I have only used it once but it seemed pretty ordinary (may need to invest in some better rubbers), I was concerned this gun would be too small.

I also have a "Salvimar hero 135", this gun has about 145cm band stretch (x2 16s) and shoots a 180cm 7.5 floppered shaft, this gun shoots well but has a tonne of wrist jamming recoil and given its fixed angled loading pad, shooting it with 2 hands is not really possible (in any way i have figured out).
The salvimar should have no issues killing at 7mtrs.. but i am not sure about more.

I am trying to figure out if these guns are to small for dogtooth tuna and what a cost effective alternative might be.

I was going to run these guns with breakaway attache to 30mtrs of spectra cored vinyl floatline followed by 2mtrs bungie followed by X 2 30 liter floats.

Thanks guys.
ninjagazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 11:29 PM   #2
popgun pete

Re: Spearguns for Dogtooth Tuna

It may be worth reading this https://forums.deeperblue.com/thread...1/#post-972293.