Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Tell us about hunting in the PNW here!

Old 10-28-2016, 12:30 AM   #1
Badfish66

Potential for new fresh water opportunities in Washington and Oregon

Hi my name is Tom Hafford and I'm new to posting on forums in general and this is my first post on here so if I am violating any protocols along the way please educate me. I'm new to spearfishing but not new to diving or snorkeling or fishing. The biggest reason I'm new to spearfishing is that I have lived in the Portland/Vancouver vicinity for nearly 30 years and there isn't a lot of opportunity close by. I thought the same went for diving and it's true to an extent but I decided to get certified before a Hawaii trip several years ago and have since found that there is a lot of interesting diving (scuba and freediving) locally and in fresh water. I've also been travelling more in recent years so I decided on my last trip to Hawaii to get some spearfishing gear.
As anyone in Washington knows there is only one fish we can legally spear in fresh water and that is the common carp and while I tried eating one once I wouldn't recommend it or do it again unless I was really hungry. Recently I have been doing more scuba and freediving on the Columbia and tributaries and what I have found to my surprise was a LOT of smallmouth bass. The Washougal river, which was once a premier salmon and steelhead river has more resident smallmouth in the lower stretches most times of the year than the latter species....and some big ones too. The other thing that came to my attention was that Washington State followed Oregon's lead and did away with catch and size limits on bass, channel catfish, and walleye on the Columbia and it's tributaries up to Chief Joseph Dam.