Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Southern Atlantic Seaboard

Southern Atlantic Seaboard Here's the place for shooters from Georgia up to Maryland, including the Carolinas and Virginia.

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008, 01:00 AM   #1
TriggersMD

Spearfishing Regulations in Maryland?????

i am new to Maryland and early this summer i had a run in with a Department of Natural Resources Officer. i was free diving in the Ocean City Inlet and was immediately approached by a Police boat. The Officer said that i was unable to use my pole spear within 100 yards of people in or out of the water (people in boats, on land, even the other side of the jetty) because it was considered "spring loaded." i got my fill of exploration and then later that evening i called the local police and the DNR for further clarification and eventually got the officer who had talked to in the inlet on the phone because no one else had any idea what i was talking about. He, of course, said the same thing.

My question is where can i find these regulations? i have reviewed the DNR website a number of times and downloaded 2008 Fishing Guide. Am i just missing it?

Any help?
TriggersMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 01:40 AM   #2
cmburch
Blue Crab

Re: Spearfishing Regulations in Maryland?????

My copy says it is unlawful to use a spear or spear gun within 100 yards of any private or public swimming areas, scuba diverís flag, other than that used by the spear fisherman, vessel in the water or human being without specific advance permission.

I only crab and fish inside the Chesapeake Bay.

Magicwanz on SCUBABoard goes spearfishing and knows the Maryland Regs.
cmburch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 12:48 PM   #3
fishfan