Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing

Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing Post here to discuss regional action or issues about spearing on Florida's Gulfcoast.

Old 12-24-2016, 05:26 AM   #1
Josec84

Gulf coast gun length selection

Was wondering what the more seasoned guys have in terms of gun length selection with multiple guns?

I mostly shoot in the Gulf of Mexico out of Tampa for grouper/snapper with the occasional cobia/Aj/kingfish when encountered. Depths are anything from 20-100 ft although most of my shooting happens between 40-80ft. Most of my diving is on tanks but have been free diving more frequently lately than I have in previous years.

I have been spearfishing for the past 8 years but only 4-6 times per year. This past year I have gone a lot, and with the increased frequency, I feel that it would justify getting an additional gun.

Currently I have a creasi 100 cm Geronimo 2 which I converted to a roller gun.It was more of an experiment than anything else to see if I liked roller guns (I found out that I don't like them, I LOVE THEM).

So my thought has been to cut down my cressi to a 75 cm closed muzzle gun, buy a proper 100 cm roller gun with a second stage and set it up as a slip tip. Acquire a traditional band gun 100cm with a magnetic muzzle that I can quickly reload/Freeshaft when thick in hogfish as I have been going on dives that are loaded with hogs.

I understand that I am by no means an expert, many people here are far more experienced and have been doing this far longer than I have. I don't want to reinvent the wheel and burn money doing it so I am really interested what you guys have to say for the multi gun setup.