Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Old 08-11-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
spearingnemo

Smile Yes Im a newbie. So what.

Hey im new to this lifestyle. Been freediving for less than a year, trying to get into spearing. I plan on buying my annual license and spear once I learn all the rules from you veterans so if its not too much to ask can I get some tips. Also I was thinking it might be a good idea to make this thread a sticky so we can jus post pointers and stuff so when other newbies like myself join they have a makeshift reference guide to this culture.

I have a few questions about my license. I want to catch lobster in the fall and halibut and what ever is out there. Can I catch these with just an annual sport fishing license or do I need add-ones?

What size should my first speargun be? what kinda attachments and mods?

Any good catching spots in malibu? (don't have to be too specific just a general idea of location)

Usually how far do you guys kick out from shore? Any regulations or dangers I need to know about swimming out too far?

Any other tips and pointers like dangers too look out for, or just any common knowledge helpful to any newbie wil be much appreciated. If I ever meet you guys on a dive maybe a beer might be waiting. Thanks
spearingnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 12:53 AM   #2
Alashaman
PB 66Lbs WSB

Re: Yes Im a newbie. So what.

Get a California Annual fishing License with the Salt Water add-on stamp, and a lobster card. That will permit you to hunt just about anything in the ocean (see DF&G for specific limit fish like Black Sea Bass and those Orange stupid ones...)