Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Southern Atlantic Seaboard

Southern Atlantic Seaboard Here's the place for shooters from Georgia up to Maryland, including the Carolinas and Virginia.

Old 10-21-2002, 09:27 PM   #1
WildBillTX

Where the hells all the Texans?????

Whats up! I know I am not the only Texan interested in spearfishin'.

Well, I decided to start a new thread since there hasn't been much action in here for a while.

Texans, Sound out and let us know who and where ya'll are located. Please share with us your favorite huntin waters here in the lone star state.

I am just starting out and would like to know some good spots to practice (Live in Dallas) and if one part of our long coastline is better than others. Also, how late/early in the year have ya'll dove on the rigs. What is the water temp and action like in the fall-winter-early spring months like.

Thanks all.

Bill
Old 10-22-2002, 06:51 AM   #2
Steel Shootin'

Hey, Bill. I think you might be the only Texan in here. You need to go round up some more, because I'd like to learn more about the waters you guys hunt in the upper Gulfcoast. We've only been online for about a month, but more out of staters are starting to trickle in.

Dallas is well into the interior of the state. How long of a drive do you have to make it to some decent hunting waters?
Steel Shootin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 03:42 PM   #3
WildBillTX

Too Far

The closest place I go is Freeport just south of Houston. There are a couple of Charters there that run liveaboard trips out into the gulf to the Flower Gardens and stop off for a dive on the rigs on the way back in. Down near port aransas there are several folks runnin day trips out to the rigs. It is too much of a drive to dive just for the day but not too bad if you go down for 3-4 days.