Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > General Freediving Area

General Freediving Area If Apnea Diving rocks your world, talk about it here!

Old 07-19-2012, 05:11 PM   #1
NickJC44

Question Where do i begin?

I'm new to the idea of posting on forums, but for freediving and even spearfishing, I figure it would be a good idea to take a look at many views from many, seasoned divers.

Now, to my question! "Where do I begin!?" I've been scuba diving for about 4 years now and love every second I am under the water. One day I was watching videos and came across a video of a guy spearfishing and thought "that is freakin awesome, I want in" so now I'd like to broaden my horizons into the world of free diving and eventually spearfishing (figure I'd get used to staying under for a while first).

So, now from you, my fellow water lovers, I'd like to ask for your help and guidance so I can figure out, where do i begin.

I've looked into it some already and I've seen plenty of different exercises for extending bottom time. Does anybody recommend something in particular that works really well? I'm able to hold my breath for about 2:00, sometimes over sometimes under, just sitting still. Is this a good start?

(Sorry i'm so full of questions, however this is just the tip of the iceberg! And if i'm starting off in the wrong place please redirect me )
NickJC44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 07:59 PM   #2
PartyBoy
Aqua Aces

Re: Where do i begin?

Freedive and spearfishing are really hard to learn on your own. You'll be able to learn more in 2 hours of talking with a good spero than you will in 2 months of trying to find stuff on your own. Freedive spearfishing is AWESOME, but you might want to try shooting fish while you're scuba diving. If something goes wrong while you're learning, you'll have a lot of extra time.