Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > General Spearfishing & Diving Discussion

General Spearfishing & Diving Discussion This is where you post to discuss general spearfishing topics that could apply to any region.

Old 09-14-2008, 12:49 PM   #1
reelbeast

Open water rigging

I'm just getting started with spearfishing and was wondering how yall rigged your floats and float lines? Do yall attach the float line to your gun or is there another way because I'm a little hesitant to just let my gun go. Any information would be helpful.

Thanks
reelbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:04 PM   #2
Bill McIntyre

Re: Open water rigging

Its best to use a breakaway system so that your gun is out of the chain. A Hawaiian breakaway is foolproof and cheap.

Cut your shooting line so that the loop in the rear end is a few inches from the line release. Tie a loop of bungee cord so that it stretches from the shooting line over the line release, and attach the float line to the loop in the shooting line (not to the loop of bungee cord).

When you pull the trigger, you are left with the gun in your hand and the fish is fighting the float.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	breakaway.JPG
Views:	992
Size:	140.9 KB
ID:	83634   Click image for larger version

Name:	breakreleased.JPG
Views:	994
Size:	146.1 KB
ID:	83635   Click image for larger version

Name:	breaka2.JPG
Views:	995
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	83636  
Bill McIntyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:47 PM   #3
njspearo
J valve

Send a message via AIM to njspearo

that is a good way of rigging but not always the most common.
as a beginner diver your more likely going to just attach the float line to your gun. believe me, youll get comfortable wiht letting your gun go..it aint gonna go very far attached to a float line attached to a float.