Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Tell us about hunting in the PNW here!

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-06-2014, 02:05 AM   #1
rootsman
Jeff

Trip report and introduction

Hello,
Posting to say hello and share the results of my first ever spearfishing outing.

To back up a bit, I've been snorkeling local streams, rivers, and alpine lakes for a few years now. I fish and mess around quite a bit with kayaks and canoes, but had never been spearfishing, though I've been intrigued by the idea since diving in the Caribbean. I actually kind of backed into the whole thing because I was looking for an efficient way to collect bait for my crayfish trapping hobby. After being inspired by the great trip report from Mike Pierce, I bought a speargun, got out the maps, and did a little carp prospecting myself.

I headed up the Gorge with my brand new AB Biller and checked out a few likely looking spots. Most had pretty poor viz, and I wasn't seeing anything but smallies and a few sunnies. I circled back to one of the first spots I checked out and there, hanging in 4-5 feet of water, were five huge carp. At least, they looked huge to me. The heart rate shot up, breathing got a little shallow, the palms a bit moist, and I thought "so this is the carp equivalent of buck fever." I got suited up, and despite the disapproving glares of most the other fishermen, slipped into the water and loaded up. I hit with my first two shots, but I guess I need to work on leading them a bit more because both placements were towards the back half of the fish. Missed the next two, including one that was about twice the size of the two I bagged. Cruised around a bit more, but word must have gotten out and I didn't see any other carp.