Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum

Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum (http://www.spearboard.com/index.php)
-   Diving Safety, Accidents and Incidents (http://www.spearboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Any self taught divers? (http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=170663)

tom311 02-21-2014 10:19 PM

Any self taught divers?

with all the talk of the dangers of freediving, i was wondering how many of yall havent taken any courses/classes

North Star 02-21-2014 10:50 PM

Re: Any self taught divers?

As for freediving, virtually everybody starts out as self taught. Many take a class much later in their career to improve their technique. I was self taught as a teenager, dove for 40 years, and finally took a freediving class when I was 57.

But as for scuba, I think virtually everyone took a class to start.

Of course, to my knowledge there were no freedive classes until 15 years ago or so - they are a fairly recent thing.

Markio 02-21-2014 10:54 PM

I am going to guess that most spearos are self taught.

tom311 02-21-2014 11:06 PM

Thats funny. Cause a lot of the spearos and freedivers that ive talked to have all said they started by taking a basics course

Markio 02-21-2014 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tom311 (Post 1924324)
Thats funny. Cause a lot of the spearos and freedivers that ive talked to have all said they started by taking a basics course

Do you know how long have they've being diving? 2, 3 yrs? less?

I don't think there is such a thing as a spearfishing course.

sticknrelease 02-21-2014 11:23 PM

Taking my first course next weekend. Free diving and spearing for about 6 years

pierreyaldo 02-21-2014 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tom311 (Post 1924311)
with all the talk of the dangers of freediving, i was wondering how many of yall havent taken any courses/classes