Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing

Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing Post here to discuss regional action or issues about spearing on Florida's Gulfcoast.

Old 04-03-2021, 12:21 PM   #1
mleach2114

EPIRB Question

Spent the past couple of months preparing the boat for the upcoming dive season which included the purchase of an EPIRB.

I purchased a category 2 version (manual activation) and the question I have is would you mount it to the boat or leave in ditch bag? I have a SPOT device that i was gifted years ago currently in my ditch bag which i will be replacing with a proper PLB next along with handheld VHF.

My thinking is ditch bag as that is the first thing that should be grabbed if things go south but wanted to see what the consensus is. This is my first time dealing with one and want to make sure its where it is most accessible god forbid it's ever needed.

Thanks!
mleach2114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 03:57 PM   #2
Dbrown

Re: EPIRB Question

Whether you mount it or keep it in the ditch bag, everyone on the boat that day needs to know where it is and everyone on the boat needs to be able to show you how to operate it as well as the VHF radio.
Dbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 04:40 PM   #3
Eibwen

I thought the purpose of an EPIRB was to be mounted to the boat so that it will passively activate if the boat sinks. Obviously if yours is manually activated that doesn't matter, but at that point if you keep it in a ditch bag I'm not sure if the distinction between EPIRB and PLB matters, you could just get a second PLB of the same make/model that operates the same way.
Eibwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 06:57 AM   #4
Spear One
Retired Comm. Shooter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eibwen View Post