Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > Spearfishing Gear > All About Guns

All About Guns What's your weapon of choice, and why? Discuss the beloved speargun here!

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-31-2013, 01:52 PM   #1
southflspearo

Good speargun for a beginner??

I am looking into buying a new speargun. I own a JBL Carbine at the moment and am looking to upgrade. I was looking at a Mako predator pro 100 cm, a JBL woody elite sawed off magnum, or a Riffe competitor 2X or 2Xs. Any thoughts??? thanks
southflspearo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
injunspearo

Re: Good speargun for a beginner??

Riffe for life, im a noob too. I bought my Competitor 3X in february and i love it. Its a wood gun so you have to treat it nicely, but they are accurate and it will outlast any pipe gun. Get the Riffe C2X
Old 05-31-2013, 07:08 PM   #3
AndrewK

Quote:
Originally Posted by injunspearo View Post
Riffe for life, im a noob too. I bought my Competitor 3X in february and i love it. Its a wood gun so you have to treat it nicely, but they are accurate and it will outlast any pipe gun. Get the Riffe C2X
riffe might be great for what you do in cali but it may not work here in south florida where we dont have craptastic viz, or giant piles of kelp in the ocean all the time... more like patch reef and reef lines and wrecks.